Shrimp Salad Rolls

This is great summer dish that I found in an old issue of Gourmet, although I tweaked it a bit. All that needs to be cooked is the shrimp. The rest are mayo and fresh ingredients mixed together for a delicious and refreshing meal.

Shrimp around here can be anywhere from $3 to $6 a pound. As for the fresh stuff, that shouldn’t run you more than $6. The original recipe called for tarragon. I used parsley instead, but I would rather actually use dill, and I would have if there were a supply of it anywhere in town.

The rolls I used were mini Kaiser rolls that come from my local grocery store. I only used 6, since my boyfriend and I managed to eat 3 each. We used the rest to go with our Jalapeno-Cilantro Turkey sliders the next day. But that’s a different post.

Total for 3 (or two very hungry) people shouldn’t be more than $15.

Ingredients for 2 hungry people:

  • 1 pound of shrimp boiled, cooled,  cut into ½ inch pieces and chilled for at least an hour
  • 1 cup mayo
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 2 tablespoons of parsley (dill or tarragon could work as well)
  • 4 stalks of scallions, diced ¼ inch
  • 1 cup celery, chopped ¼ inch
  • Cayenne, salt and pepper
  • 6 mini rolls

Combine all the ingredients, except for the rolls of course. Season according to you taste, and refrigerate for another 20 minutes, which really is just an arbitrary number. That’s just the time I used. But refrigerate long enough for everything to be cold. Then serve with the rolls and enjoy.

Published in: on June 4, 2010 at 8:59 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/06/04/shrimp-salad-rolls/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

