Creamy Green Orzo Risotto with Buttery Shrimp

Green Orzo

I love me some orzo. That should be a given by now. I buy it in a pretty big jar, so it’s an easy go to.  AND I love the creamy consistency of risotto, so combining the two seemed like a great idea.

This is a recipe that I came up with because well, I wanted more veggies in my diet and shrimp happened to be on sale. I had a quarter-full bag of frozen peas and unopened package of frozen spinach, which was probably a combined $1.25. The shrimp was about 5 bucks a pound, and I used half a pound.

After I decided on making creamy orzo with shrimp, I headed to the Internets to find concrete directions, and luckily I did on Food and Wine.

The frozen veggies, protein, pasta and parmesan probably set me back $7 on this one. And did I mention it was delicious? Because it absolutely was. Actually, more delicious than I expected.

Ingredients for 2 (and leftovers for lunch):

  • 1 ¾ cup orzo
  • ½ pound peeled shrimp
  • 1 box frozen spinach, thawed
  • ¼ – ½ cup frozen peas
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • ½ cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and pepper

Cook the orzo in a boiling water, for about 8 minutes then add the peas, and cook for another 2 minutes.  Before draining, save ¼ cup of the pasta water.

While the orzo is cooking, melt the butter in a skillet on medium-high heat. Reduce the heat to medium and allow for the butter to brown a bit, then add shrimp and season with salt and pepper. Cook for about a minute on both sides, then remove and add to the thawed spinach.

After draining the orzo and peas (and reserving ¼ cup of the pasta water), return them back into the saucepan and add the brown butter, shrimp and spinach. Cook on medium heat. Then set the skillet (previously with the brown butter) on high and add the chicken stock, scraping down the sides to get all the bits off. Then pour the stock AND reserved pasta water into the saucepan with everything else. Cook until it gets creamy, about 3 to 4 minutes, then add the cheese and turn off heat.

Allow to cool for a few minutes because it’ll be super hot. And super delicious. I can guarantee that.

Published in: on June 14, 2010 at 12:45 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/06/14/creamy-green-orzo-risotto-with-buttery-shrimp/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m sad I missed that one. Looks dericious!


Leave a Reply

