Spaghetti Carbonara

This is a super easy recipe that I got from Ms. Stewart, and it only takes 8 ingredients. I like my Carbonara really creamy, instead of sticky or clingy. But if you prefer that texture, then cut back on the half-and-half.

I make this on a monthly basis, and I sometimes I mix up the protein or throw in veggies. This time I just used shrimp, which cost me about 3. The dairy portion of half and half, eggs and cheese was about 4 dollars. Add a few cuts of bacon and spaghetti, the total was around $10.

I have salt down as an ingredient, but I used it very sparingly since there’s a good amount of saltiness from the bacon and parmesan.

Ingredients for two:

  • ½ lb shrimp, shelled
  • ½ spaghetti
  • 3-4 slices of bacon, cut into ½ inch pieces
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup half-and-half
  • Cayenne, salt and pepper

Fry bacon pieces until crispy, and then remove to another plate.

Cook the pasta according to the directions.

Remove the crisp bacon, and add the shrimp to the same pan with the bacon grease and season with pepper and salt. Cook for about 1 to 2 minutes each side. When thoroughly cooked through, remove and add to the plate of bacon.

For the sauce, combine the eggs, cheese, half-and-half in a large bowl. Mix well, then season with cayenne, salt and pepper.

When the pasta is cooked, use either tongs or a pasta server to transfer the pasta straight from the pot to the bowl of sauce. Leave water clinging to the pasta, for the water will help even out the sauce. Then add the plate of bacon and shrimp. Combine well and serve. I added Pillsbury garlic breadsticks as a side.

Published in: on June 17, 2010 at 11:30 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/spaghetti-carbonara/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] sauce can be made in a large bowl, which I’m a huge fan of. Check out my Lemon-Ricotta sauce or Carbonara if you would like to see old “sauce in a bowl” […]


Leave a Reply

