Fried Shrimp Tacos with Pineapple Salsa

I love this meal. It was inspired by the Baha shrimp taco at Torchy’s, but ultimately the two have nothing in common except for fried shrimp and a tortilla.

Both tacos are refreshing, but mine is bit lighter and eating two won’t make me feel sluggish. The pineapple salsa also compliments the fried shrimp perfectly.

I was making dinner for four, so I used a pound of shrimp and luckily it was only $4 a pound at my grocery store. I also used canned pineapples, but of course fresh pineapple can work. I used all but three of the pineapple rings because I wanted to make pineapple upside-down cupcakes later in the week.

I did end up buying fresh tortillas from the bakery inside my local grocery store. I could eat a 10-pack of those tortillas alone. I heat them up in a pan until they’re toasted brown and pillowy, and they’re just heavenly.

The entire meal for four cost me no more than $10 and yields 10 tacos. And pairing these tacos with some cilantro-lime rice could easily feed five.

Ingredients for 4:

  • 1 pound of shrimp, peeled
  • Oil for frying
  • 10 flour tortillas
  • 1 can of pineapple rings, chopped (I used all but 3 rings, but add as much as you like)
  • ½ cup of cilantro, chopped
  • ½ small red onion, chopped
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 ½ cup flour
  • Cayenne, salt and pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons milk
  • Avocado slices (optional)

In a small bowl (preferably one with a lid), combine the chopped pineapple, red onion, cilantro, lime juice and salt. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Prepare the oil in whatever you’ll be frying it in (i.e. a deep fryer, a heavy set pan).

Begin toasting tortillas in a small pan on medium heat. About 2 minutes per side. I don’t have a tortilla warmer, so I just flip a plastic plate over another one, and it keeps the tortillas just fine.

In a bowl, combine the flour, cayenne, salt and pepper.

In another bowl, combine the egg and milk.

In batches if necessary, drop the shrimp into the egg-milk mixture. Cover well, but remove any excess mixture. Then drop into the flour mixture. Then fry the shrimp until golden brown, about 1 to 2 minutes per side.

Drain the fried shrimp of any excess oil then assemble the tacos. I didn’t use any avocado slices this time, but of course pile it on if you have any around the kitchen.

Published in: on June 28, 2010 at 1:31 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/fried-shrimp-tacos-with-pineapple-salsa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

