Fried Chicken Tenders

In the midst of risottos, orzos, fish and veggies, I do occasionally enjoy a fried meal. This week, chicken tenders satisfied my fried-tooth.

In my freezer was an extra chicken breast and in my pantry were the rest of the ingredients needed to fry chicken tenders. The total costs of it all would be around $6.

Frying foods always leaves my kitchen and myself in a bit of a mess, so I try to always keep one hand dry while the other hand dredges, soaks, and coats.

Ingredients for 2 plus leftovers for lunch:

  • 1 chicken breast, cut into strips
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons of milk
  • Cayenne, salt, and pepper
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • ¼ cup cornmeal
  • Enough oil to fry

Heat oil for frying.

Pat the chicken strips dry with a paper towel. Season both sides with salt and pepper.

In a large bowl or shallow plate, add ½ cup of flour. Dredge the seasoned chicken strips in the bowl and set aside.

In a another bowl or shallow plate, mix the egg and milk together. Set aside.

Now in the same bowl that was used for dredging, add the rest of the flour, cornmeal, cayenne, salt and pepper.

Soak the dredged chicken into the egg/milk mixture and allow for excess to drip off and then coat with the seasoned flour/cornmeal mixture.

Fry the strips in batches if necessary for 4 to 5 minutes each side, more or less depending on what you’re using to fry it.

Drain the strips on a paper towel before serving.

Published in: on August 17, 2010 at 7:12 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/08/17/fried-chicken-tenders/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This sounds DELICIOUS. I want to try it sometime when I have a free evening; I need to develop your finesse. Somehow I feel like there would be a whole lot more mess involved if I tried it…


Leave a Reply

