Five-Layer Tex-Mex Dip

If you don’t know by now then you should absolutely know that I LOVE chips and dip.

I am always looking for a quick and easy dip to have for a snack or to serve to guests. I especially loved this dip because I can make it HOURS before I need to serve it. Actually, I just fry up flour tortilla triangles 30 minutes before serving.

The five layers consist of guacamole, black beans, salsa, sour cream, and shredded cheese, in that order. It only set me back about $10, and it was absolutely worth it.

Ingredients for 4:
1 ripe avocado, diced
½ cup cilantro, chopped
2 limes
1 large tomato, diced
½ red onion, diced
½ cup black beans, rinsed
½ cup shredded cheese such as Mexican
¾ cup sour cream, softened
Salt and pepper

In a small bowl, prepare the guacamole by mixing the avocado, ¼ cup cilantro, juice of 1 lime, salt, and pepper.

In a clear bowl or round baking dish, line the bottom with the guacamole. Then add a layer of the black beans.

In another small bowl, prepare the salsa by combining the diced tomato, rest of the cilantro, juice of the last lime, red onion, salt, and pepper. Layer the salsa over the black beans.

Then spread the sour cream and sprinkle the cheese. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before serving.

Published in: on September 16, 2010 at 7:04 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/five-layer-tex-mex-dip/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love layered dip. Although I tend to use cream cheese instead of sour cream. MMMMMMMM! More updates, please!

  2. Lauren! I would LOVE to update but my laptop, including all the recipes and photos, is malfunctioning. A friend is fixing it for me, and hopefully I can start updating SOON!


Leave a Reply

