Creamy Orzo with Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Baby Spinach


I love orzo. There’s just so much I can do with it. I buy it in a big jar, and I go to it on a weekly basis. And I don’t ever see that changing.

This particular night however, I had planned on making a sweet potato risotto, but alas, I had NO Arborio rice. I already had the sweet potato diced and roasting, so I had to think fast. I had some half and half and dried orzo on hand, so a risotto-style orzo was in order.

I also threw in some fresh spinach since I had extra and some parmesan to thicken the whole dish. It turned out delicious!

Ingredients for 2:

  • ¾ cup orzo
  • 1 small sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil, plus more for cooking
  • 1 ½ – 2 cups fresh baby spinach leaves
  • ½ small onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • ¼ cup grated parmesan
  • ½ cup half and half
  • Salt and Pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In a baking sheet, combine the diced sweet potato, olive oil, and salt and pepper. Mix well and roast for 20 to 25 minutes. Toss the potatoes halfway.

Cook the orzo according to the directions. Drain and set aside.

In a large pan on medium-high heat, add some oil and the garlic. Cook until fragrant, then add the onions and cook for 4 to 6 minutes. Add the sweet potatoes and cook for another minute. Add the orzo and half and half. Allow to thicken, then reduce heat and add the cheese and season to taste. Serve immediately.

By the way, I apologize for the long hiatus. I had technical difficulties, difficulties in that I didn’t have my laptop anymore. But it’s back now! And I plan to update Monday through Friday!

Published in: on October 4, 2010 at 7:08 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/creamy-orzo-with-roasted-sweet-potatoes-and-baby-spinach/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Carbolicious! My favorite kind of dinner.


Leave a Reply

