Mini Pork-Ginger Egg Rolls

These bite-sized golden treats are perfect little appetizers. They fry up fast, and they’re perfect as is.

I wanted to miniaturize these because well, I wanted to make them fun and even easier to eat, and I can safely say that I succeeded. I ate about a dozen without even realizing it, and then I ate another dozen. The ginger was fragrant but not overwhelming, and the filling was moist and flavorful.

The ingredients I used were extras I had from a stir-fry I made earlier in the week. So all I had to go out and purchase were the frozen wrappers, which set me back about $3.

Ingredients for 8:

  • Frozen Egg Roll Wrappers, thawed and cut into quadrants
  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 2 tablespoons fresh ground ginger
  • 2 carrots, shredded
  • ¼ cabbage, shredded
  • ½ white onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • Few dashes of sesame oil
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • Pepper
  • 2 eggs
  • Oil for frying

In a large bowl, combine the pork, ginger, carrots, cabbage, white onion, soy sauce, sesame oil, seasonings, and 1 egg. Mix well and refrigerate for 20 minutes (arbitrary time, really).

Prepare the oil for frying. (I filled a medium-sized saucepan with ½-inch of vegetable oil on medium heat.)

With a large plate or baking sheet on hand, prepare the egg rolls. The package ought to have instructions on how to construct an egg roll, but I’ll try my best to coherently explain how I did it.

In a small bowl, scramble the remaining egg.

Take a wrapper and point a corner toward you. Place half a tablespoon of filling half an inch from that corner.  Start rolling that corner inward and then take the side corners and fold them toward the center. Now take that first corner and continue rolling until it almost reaches the other corner. Then dab a bit of egg-wash on that last corner and finish rolling. (I hope that made sense.)

Fry the egg rolls in batches, making sure they don’t crowd each other. Fry until the skin is dark golden, about 3 minutes on each side. Drain on a paper towel. Allow to cool for 5 to 7 minutes before serving.

Published in: on November 1, 2010 at 7:15 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/mini-pork-ginger-egg-rolls/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

