Chunky Peach Crumb Bars

Once upon a time, I came upon three VERY ripe peaches in my refrigerator. With a little help from my pantry, an egg, and a lemon, 24 peach crumb bars were magically created. And then I lived happily ever after.

True story.

These super moist bars definitely hit the spot for me. They came out light and fruity, perfect for an after dinner treat.  And it really didn’t set me back any money, but I suppose the total costs of the fresh ingredients would have set me back about $4.

I found this recipe on Two Peas and Their Pod, and I’m eternally grateful. The recipe stayed pretty much intact since I wanted to see how the crust compared to my other crumb bars. I can’t say which one I like more since this one is moist and cake-like, while my past blueberry-peach crumb bar was hearty and crisp. I like both. But you should try them out for yourself.

Ingredients for 24 bars (9 x 13 inch pan):
Filling

  • 3 large ripe peaches, peeled and chopped
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon (or a bit more)

Dough

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 sticks cold butter, cut into half-inch pieces
  • 1 egg
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon-sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a bowl, combine all the ingredients for the filling. Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, lemon zest, and cinnamon. Blend in the butter, using your fingers until small chunks of butter remain. Mix together the vanilla and egg and add to the dough.

Evenly pat half of the crumbly dough into the pan. Then evenly spread the filling.

Crumble the remaining dough over the peach filling. Sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar and bake for 40 minutes. Rotate the pan halfway. Allow to cool completely before cutting in.

I think they’re better cold, but they’re also great at room temperature.

Published in: on November 5, 2010 at 7:24 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/chunky-peach-crumb-bars/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

