Seasoned Fries


Mmmm, fries. I love fries. I just really really do, especially MY fries.

I probably consume 10 pounds of fries a week, give or take a pound. I just love them. There’s something almost euphoric about cripsy, delicate fried strips of potato. There’s no better side dish or snack, at least according to me.

I like my fries golden and crispy, so I double fry the fries in small batches. I also like them with a bit of a kick, so I toss together cayenne and cumin and sprinkle that on.

The cost for homemade fries, you ask? Well, very minimal. One potato is less than a dollar, and that can easily feed two people.

And I know, I know, the idea of cutting up fries may seem agonizing, but trust me, it’s TOTALLY worth it.


Take a closer look at that golden deliciousness.

Ingredients for 2:
1 russet potato, peeled and cut into 1/4-inch thick fries (soak as much moisture as possible using a paper towel)
Vegetable oil for frying
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon onion powder

In a small bowl, mix the spices together and set aside.

Heat the oil on medium heat. Fry the fries in batches for 5 to 7 minutes. Drain on a paper towel.

Turn the heat up to medium-high and fry until golden brown, or about 3 minutes.

Drain on paper towel again and sprinkle with seasonings. Serve immediately.

Published in: on November 18, 2010 at 6:48 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/18/seasoned-fries/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think I might actually try this…

  2. COME ON!


Leave a Reply

