Apple Cobbler


Imagine soft-baked, spiced apples topped with a chewy, yet crispy sugar cookie on top.

Voila, here it is.

I’ve been craving cobbler for quite some time now, and although I prefer peaches or blueberries, I’m MORE than happy I decided to use up my last three McIntosh apples from the fridge.

I found a Land O’Lakes recipe that I liked, but I knew there were a few changes that I needed to implement. I cut the apples thin and tossed them around in brown sugar, cinnamon, and a few crushed cloves and topped that with a crumbly dough, which was then drizzled with butter. It came out delicious.

And of course I topped the whole thing with a Dulce de Leche flavored ice cream (Haagen Dazs, yah?).

The total cost for me was absolutely no extra money, but let’s say I wanted to make it right now and my pantry was completely robbed. Well, it would set me back about $10. But then I’ll have a bunch of leftover ingredients to make half a dozen more desserts. Oh what a life that would be.

Ingredients for 4:

  • 3 good baking apples, peeled and sliced thin
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • Few crush cloves
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 ¼ cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Toss the apples with the brown sugar, cloves, ½ teaspoon cinnamon, and ¼ cup white sugar. Line a 9-inch round baking pan with the apples.

Combine ½ teaspoon cinnamon, flour, 1 cup white sugar, egg, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Beat on medium speed until coarse crumbles appear. Evenly spread the dough over the apples and then drizzle the butter over the dough. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes.

Allow to cool for a few minutes before digging in.

By the way, Happy Thanksgiving! I’ll be posting again next Monday!

Published in: on November 24, 2010 at 7:47 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/24/apple-cobbler/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

