Oven-Baked Baby Back Ribs


I must first apologize for the quality of the above picture. My hunger and the condition of the ribs made it difficult to produce a “pretty” picture.  But believe me, these ribs are worth making.

So I love ribs, a lot. I would seriously consider them to be my “last meal,” and I’ve been thinking about my “last meal” for years now. But anyway.

I know some of you may be thinking, “Oven-baked? Why not smoked or grilled?” Well because I live in an apartment, and I don’t have the luxury of a grill. But this recipe is a wonderful alternative. The ribs came out juicy and full of flavor.

I’m hoping this photo can depict the tenderness of these ribs.

Or maybe this photo.

The recipe is super easy and set me back about $13 for a 2.5-pound rack of ribs and a bottle of barbeque sauce. The rest of the ingredients included a few tablespoons of spices and two-and-a-half hours of your time. You won’t regret it.

Ingredients for 2 HUNGRY people (4 if sides are served):

  • 2.5-pound rack of pork ribs
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon pepper
  • ½ teaspoon cayenne
  • ¼ teaspoon cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 to 2 cups barbeque sauce

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

In a small bowl, combine the spices.

Tear enough foil to double over the ribs.  Set the rack of ribs, bone-side down, onto the foil and rub the spices over the top. Fold over the foil and seal the edges tightly. Set the ribs on a baking sheet and bake for 2 hours, undisturbed.

Unwrap the ribs and baste with barbeque sauce. Loosely cover the ribs and bake for another 20 minutes.

Allow the ribs to cool for 5 minutes before cutting in.

And I guarantee the bones will end up like these.

Published in: on November 29, 2010 at 6:55 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/29/oven-baked-baby-back-ribs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Finga Lickin Good!


Leave a Reply

