Citrus-Scallops Salad

Scallops are definitely a “splurge-food” for me, so I only get to make them every few months. And when I do, I like them with a light refreshing salad, so I can truly appreciate the lusciousness of a jumbo sea scallop.

Here I made a spinach-orange salad with an easy orange and lemon dressing. The hardest part was segmenting the oranges, which I guess is a bit of a hassle, but hey, it’s worth it.

I like to buy my scallops by the exact quantity and not by the pound. I like everyone to have the same number of scallops on their plate, keeps the envy at bay. So 8 fresh scallops set me back almost $15, and the salad cost me about $4. And of course, a few pantry items were necessary.

Ingredients for 2:

  • 8 jumbo scallops, washed and patted dry
  • 4 oranges, 2 segmented and 2 juiced
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon white or champagne vinegar
  • Salt, pepper, and cayenne
  • Toasted almond slivers
  • 3 to 4 cups fresh baby spinach leaves

In a large bowl, combine the orange and lemon juice. Whisk in the olive oil and vinegar, then the seasonings. Mix well. Save ¼-cup of the dressing to top the scallops. Set the rest of the dressing aside.

Heat a grill pan on medium-high heat. Season the scallops with salt and pepper, both sides. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes each side.

Mix the spinach leaves with the dressing. Add the orange segments and almond slivers. Gently toss.

Serve the scallops on top or on the side of the salad. Drizzle the remaining dressing onto the scallops.

Published in: on December 2, 2010 at 7:11 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/12/02/citrus-scallops-salad/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

