Post-Christmas Post! Shepherd’s Pie!

Well I hope everyone had a wonderful and delicious Christmas. I definitely did. Now before I go on about last night’s dinner, I want to talk about MY Christmas day. It’s relevant, I promise.

For Christmas breakfast, I made pecan-chocolate chunk cinnamon rolls with cream cheese frosting (recipe will follow tomorrow). Two of those rich bad boys held me over ‘til dinner, which consisted of a roasted leg of lamb, steamed carrots, sautéed mushrooms, rosemary mashed potatoes, and garlic knots. Pictures, you ask? Well, there aren’t any.

See, those cinnamon rolls BARELY held me over for dinner actually. Once the sauce reduced and the knots were golden, I ate and ate and ate. And I didn’t stop once to take a photo. Sorry.

Well, there is ONE photo. It’s of the leg of lamb after carving about 60 percent of it off.

I could of stood in the kitchen eating the rest of it, but I had to stop myself. The rest of the meat was going in a shepherd’s pie the next day, and I definitely have pictures of that. SEE! The relevancy!

Anyway.

This was a SUPER easy recipe to make, especially since pretty much half the work was done already. And if I was smart, I would have DOUBLED the amount of mashed potatoes I made on Christmas to use for the pie, but alas, I didn’t. But oh well, the mashed potatoes only took about 20 minutes, and I was able to make the filling in the meantime. And of course, if you happen to have mashed potatoes lying around, just throw them on top. But I provided a recipe of my own mashed taters because I just love  ‘em.

The total cost for the meal is well, hard to say. The original cost for the leg of lamb was $5.99 a pound, and I probably put 1 to 1.5 pounds into the pie. But you could also use beef or ground lamb. The veggies set me back about $6.

Ingredient for 2 VERY, VERY hungry people:

  • 1.5 pounds of lamb, cooked and cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 2 carrots, diced and boiled
  • ½ white onion, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup frozen peas, thawed
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup red wine
  • Salt and pepper
  • 3-4 cups mashed potatoes (or use the recipe below)

Rosemary-Garlic Mashed Potatoes:

  • 2 large russet potatoes, skinned and cut into 2-inch chunks
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 3 sprigs rosemary, leaves taken off
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled and left whole
  • ½ cup chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

In a large pot, fill with enough water to cover the potatoes and turn on high heat. Add potatoes to the boiling water and cook until soft or about 15 minutes. Drain and transfer to a large mixing bowl with the butter.

In a small saucepan, fill with ½ cup chicken stock, 1 tablespoon olive oil, 4 whole garlic cloves, and rosemary leaves. Bring to a boil and then reduce to medium heat. After the cloves are soft, about 15 minutes, transfer the contents into the mixing bowl with the potatoes and butter. Season with salt and pepper. Whisk until JUST combined.

While the potatoes are boiling, add the olive oil to a large frying pan on medium-high heat. Sauté the garlic and onions until fragrant, then add the cooked carrots and thawed peas. Season with salt and pepper. Cook for a few minutes and then add the flour and tomato paste. Cook for another minute and then add the stock and wine. Reduce heat to low-medium, add the meat, cover, and cook for 5 to 7 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Transfer the meat-filling to a 9-inch baking pan, then evenly cover with the mashed potatoes.

Bake for 20 minutes with a large baking sheet below it to catch the drippings because there WILL BE drippings.

Allow to cool for 5 to 10 minutes before digging in.

Published in: on December 27, 2010 at 8:52 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/12/27/post-christmas-post-shepherd%e2%80%99s-pie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

