Apple Crisp

Mmmm… apple… crisp…

I love apple crisps. I really really do. But really, what’s there not to love about it? Warm baked, cinnamon apples topped with a crunchy, sweet oatmeal topping. I know I am not alone in this.

Ever since I was a little girl I ALWAYS opted for fruit crisps over any other dessert. There’s just some sort of unexplainable sense of comfort about warm fruit crisps with a big dallop of vanilla ice cream on top. Love.

All I really needed to buy were apples, so the whole recipe set me back about $1. Fresh apples, butter and a few pantry staples were all I needed for this delicious dessert. Oh and ice cream, of course!

Ingredients for 4 (or 2 super hungry, apple crisp appreciators like my boyfriend and myself):

  • 2 Granny Smith apples, peeled and sliced thin
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 8 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, plus 2 tablespoons
  • 1/4 cup white sugar, plus 1 tablespoons
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 lemon, juiced

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a 9-inch baking dish, combine the apples, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 1 tablespoon white sugar, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, juice of 1 lemon, and 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Mix well and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, combine the remaining ingredients and evenly sprinkle onto the apples.

Bake for 30 minutes and allow to cool for 5 minutes.

Serve with ice cream if desired.

Published in: on January 3, 2011 at 7:08 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/apple-crisp/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

