Vietnamese Ginger Braised Chicken Thighs with Garlicky Broccoli

Part nostalgia and part euphoria are the only ways I can describe this dish.

I’ve been craving this meal for months now, and I finally decided to do something about it this weekend. This is a weekly favorite at my mom’s house, and I always figured my attempt at it would fall short, but I proved myself wrong. The flavor and texture were spot on, and I couldn’t help but just gorge. For 7 minutes, all I focused on was my plate of food and how incredibly flavorful and tender the chicken was. I also made sure each bite had a piece of ginger along with it. Trust me, you’ll understand if you try it.

I plan on making this again and again since this meal only set me back about $4, plus a few pantry staples. For others it may cost more, unless you happen to also have a bottle of fish sauce around.

Ingredients for 2, VERY hungry people:

  • 4 chicken thighs, skinned and cut into 2-inch chunks
  • 4 tablespoons, plus 2 teaspoons sugar
  • ½ white onion, diced
  • 3-inch knob of ginger, cut into matchsticks
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3-4 tablespoons fish sauce
  • Salt and pepper
  • ½ cup, plus 1 ½ cup water

In a medium-sized saucepan, add 4 tablespoons of sugar and ½ cup of water. Turn to medium-high heat. Stir and allow to caramelize.

When the sugars turn to a deep brown color, add the rest of the ingredients. Stir, turn heat down to medium, cover, and simmer for at an hour. Check at the half-way mark for seasoning.

Serve with rice.

My mother always served this dish with fresh, thick-cut cucumber slices, but I didn’t have any. BUT! I did have three bags of frozen broccoli in the freezer. Minutes before serving dinner, I quickly boiled 2 cups and tossed it with minced garlic, sesame oil, and red pepper flakes in a hot frying pan. To be honest though, I would have preferred the cucumbers. But hey, it was still delicious.

Published in: on January 17, 2011 at 7:04 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/vietnamese-ginger-braised-chicken-thighs-with-garlicky-broccoli/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

