Fruit and Yogurt Parfait

Forget about McDonald’s dollar parfaits. Not that you necessarily had those in mind, but well, maybe you did. But anyway, homemade of course is so much better!

The parfait-making itself isn’t too difficult obviously, but making that crunchy, sweet, flavorful topping takes a bit more effort. And it only cost me an extra $2. I already had the oats, honey, brown sugar, and vanilla. I just needed the whole almonds, which I bought in the self-serve section of my grocery store. I should also admit that I didn’t use ground cinnamon in this recipe because well, I didn’t have any. And you know what? I didn’t miss it at all! But of course, you could add a few sprinkles of it in your batch.

I also threw some coconut into the mixture because:

  1. It’s delicious
  2. It was just hanging out in my pantry
  3. It brought back fun memories of making granola with a couple of college friends

Granola is a great thing to make yourself because you can really just put whatever YOU want in a bowl and toss it around with honey and brown sugar.

I made my parfait with vanilla yogurt and fresh strawberries but of course, you could use whatever you want.

Ingredients for a lot of granola:

  • 2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole raw almonds
  • ½ cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • Pinch of salt
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • ½  cup honey
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, almonds, coconut, and salt.

In another bowl, whisk together the rest of the ingredients. Mix very well, until every oat is covered in the honey mixture.

Transfer everything to the baking sheet. Spread batter around evenly. Bake for 10 minutes and use a spatula to toss everything around.

Bake for another 10 minutes and toss with the spatula again. Turn off heat and allow to sit in the oven for another 5 minutes.

Remove  from the oven and wait 5 to 8 minutes before tossing or breaking the granola again.

Assemble parfaits however you wish.

Published in: on February 8, 2011 at 7:15 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/fruit-and-yogurt-parfait/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love granola. And I love making it with awesome people. 🙂


Leave a Reply

