Coffee Cake

I love love love coffee cake. But really, who doesn’t? And when the Pioneer Woman claimed to have the best coffee cake ever, then well, I just had to find out for myself.

I can’t necessarily say it’s the “best coffee cake ever,” BUT I can say it’s the best I’ve ever made, and I’ve made a few coffee cakes in my time.

The cake is super moist with pockets of delicious brown sugar and cinnamon. Yum.

This cake was made during a day I was “snowed in.” In Austin that means less than an inch of snow, but hey, I’ll take it.

Luckily I had all these ingredients in my pantry, and I bet you do too. This cake cost me nothing extra at all, and I like that in a cake.

Ingredients for a 9 x 13 inch cake pan:

Batter:

  • 1-½ stick butter, softened
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 cups flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1-¼ cup milk
  • 3 whole egg whites

Topping:

  • 1-½ stick butter, softened
  • ¾ cups flour
  • 1-½ cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

For the cake:
In a bowl, whisked together the flour, salt, and baking powder. Set aside.

Beat the egg whites until stiff. Also set aside.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar.

Add the dry ingredients and milk alternately. Mix well. Fold in the egg whites with a spatula until all is combined. Transfer batter into a cake pan.

For the topping:
In a bowl, combine all the ingredients and mix with a pastry cutter, fork, or your fingers. Sprinkle over the batter.

Bake for 45 minutes. Allow to cool for 5 minutes and serve warm.

Published in: on February 11, 2011 at 7:25 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/coffee-cake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

