Mini Soft Pretzels

These golden brown, super soft pretzels are addicting. Luckily they freeze incredibly well, and in less than 20 minutes, I could have half a dozen ready. I appreciate that in a warm snack.

I found this recipe on Annie’s Eats months ago, and I regret not making three dozen that day because these are the perfect snack. I like to dip them in a spicy mustard, preferably Zatarain’s Creole Mustard. Yum.

All the ingredients were already in my pantry, except for the Kosher salt, so the cost was very minimal.

Ingredients for 16 mini pretzels:

  • 1 ½ cup warm water (115 degrees)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Kosher salt
  • 1 package dry active yeast
  • 4 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted
  • Vegetable oil, for the bowl

Topping:

  • 10 cups water
  • 2/3 cup baking soda
  • 1 egg yolk, plus 1 tablespoon water
  • Kosher salt

Using a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, mix together the water, sugar, salt, and yeast on slow speed. Allow the yeast to dissolve for a few minutes and then add the flour and butter. Mix until just combined and then switch to the dough hook. Knead for 5 minutes.

Form into a ball and transfer to a large greased bowl. Coat the dough in oil. Cover the bowl in saran wrap and allow to rise for an hour.

In a large pot, bring the 10 cups of water and baking soda to a boil.

In a small bowl, whisk mix together the yolk and tablespoon of water. Set aside.

Divide the dough into 8 equal pieces, and then divide each piece into two. Roll each piece into a 12-inch-long rope. I did not bother rolling each piece into a ball. I just grabbed a chunk and starting rolling into a rope and it worked beautifully.

This diagram from Martha Stewart really helped form the pretzels.

Transfer each pretzel to a parchment-lined baking sheet.

Boil 2 pretzels at a time for 30 seconds. Remove from boiling water and return to the baking sheet. After all the pretzels have been boil, brush the tops with the eggwash and sprinkle with kosher salt.

Bake for 12 minutes. Allow to cool a few minutes being tearing into one.

Published in: on February 14, 2011 at 6:20 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2011/02/14/mini-soft-pretzels/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I WANTS IT. I WANTS IT NOW.

  2. Lauren! I’ll make you all the pretzels you want! We need need need to have a Gilmore Girls night. I know I’ve been saying that, but it’s gotta happen! Please!

  3. I texted you! Let’s bake pretzels and watch GG. I have an oven AND a tv and so do you. Let’s make it happen, Nguyen!

  4. Yes! You did! I’m so sorry! It’s been a hectic hectic hectic week and my house is in shambles and I’m leaving town this weekend. I’m shooting for NEXT Saturday! Please 🙂 A daytime, mini-GG marathon with fresh baked pretzels. MMMMM!

  5. Saturday is a crazy day for me; does Sunday possibly suit you? You have my number. Let’s *do* this!

  6. […] 1 batch of pretzel dough […]


Leave a Reply

