Pulled Pork Sliders

I must admit, this is hardly a recipe at all. It’s quite possibly the easiest tasty dinner I’ve ever prepared. With that said, how could you not be interested?

I actually used leftover-ed meat from carnitas I made a few days before. I just tossed the leftovers with barbeque sauce, heated it up, and that was it. Yum.

This was a VERY filling meal. I was convinced that I could eat three sliders topped with cole slaw, but I was wrong. After two, I surrendered. But that just meant leftovers for lunch the next day.

The meat set me back hardly any money at all since I used leftover-ed meat, but if I wanted to whip up the same meal again for maybe 8 or 9  of my friends, then it wouldn’t be more than $15.

Here’s a recipe for those starting with a fresh pork shoulder and not leftovers.

Ingredients for 8 to 10:

  • 1 5-pound pork shoulder
  • 1 can coconut soda (or ginger ale)
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • Cayenne
  • Cumin
  • Garlic salt
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 ½ to 2 cups barbeque sauce

In a slow cooker, add half of the sliced onions. Set the pork shoulder on top and season liberally. Add the rest of the sliced onions around the pork shoulder. Pour the soda onto the onions.

Set timer to low and cook for 8 hours.

Remove the pork from the crock pot and set aside. Discard cooking liquid and onions. Return pork to crock pot and remove the bone. Shred the meat and toss with barbecue sauce. Cook on low for another hour.

Serve with rolls, topped with cole slaw or slices of red onion. Add more barbecue sauce if desired.

Published in: on March 14, 2011 at 6:21 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/pulled-pork-sliders/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

