Saucy Chipotle Chicken Tacos

Best. Tacos. Ever. Seriously.

I found this recipe on Homesick Texan, and I just KNEW I had to make it ASAP! I’ve been on the lookout for a good chicken taco recipe for years now, but I couldn’t find it or create it myself.

I know, I know, chicken tacos? Really?

Well, YEAH!

I don’t just want cooked chicken in a soggy tortilla, topped with shredded cheese or sour cream. I want a crisp tortilla filled with juicy, flavorful meat and refreshing toppings. That’s it. And well, here it is. Oh and it only cost me about $12.

I tweaked the recipe quite a bit because I didn’t want to cut up another onion or peel more garlic. I also wanted a lot of salsa to jazz up the super moist chicken.

I served the yummy tacos with a side of simple Mexican rice. Delish. Oh and they even tasted better the next day! You just can’t lose with this recipe.

Ingredients for 2, plus leftover lunch for 1:
Chicken:

  • 4 chicken thighs
  • 4 large garlic cloves
  • 1 yellow onion, quartered
  • Cilantro stems
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tablespoon salt

Salsa:

  • ½ cup of the above broth
  • 1 cup canned crushed tomatoes
  • 2 – 4 chipotle chiles en adobo
  • 2 garlic cloves (used from the broth)
  • 1 quarter onion (use from the broth)
  • Cumin
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • ¼ cup fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoons vegetable oil

Toppings:

  • Cilantro leaves
  • Avocado slices

In a large pot, add all of the “chicken” ingredients. Add enough water to cover everything. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 1 hour. Remove the chicken and allow to cool down.

In a food processor, add ½ cup broth, 2 garlic cloves, and a quarter of onion saved from the chicken. (The rest of the contents can be thrown out). Also add the rest of the ingredients except for the oil. Pulse until desired consistency.

In a large pot, add the oil and cook on medium heat. Add the salsa and lower the heat to medium-low. Cook for 10 – 15 minutes, while the chicken is shredded.

Add the shredded chicken to the salsa and cook for a few more minutes.

Serve with toasted tortillas and suggested toppings.

Enjoy!

Published in: on January 31, 2011 at 7:11 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tramskitchen.wordpress.com/2011/01/31/saucy-chipotle-chicken-tacos/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment